Firearm Possession by a Convicted Felon
Firearm Possession by Convicted Felon statutes make it unlawful for someone
convicted of a felony who has not had their rights restored to possess
a firearm. Both Federal and Florida law include heavy fines and severe
criminal penalties, including potential mandatory/minimum sentences of
up to 25 years and maximum potential sentences of up to LIFE. Mr. Petruzzi
has represented numerous individuals charged with, or under investigation
for, Firearm Possession by Convicted Felon offense by both Federal and
State authorities. His experience and knowledge serves as an invaluable
asset to his clients.
To arrange for a free and confidential consultation with respect to any
Federal or State Firearm Possession by a Convicted Felon offense, contact
our office at (305)-770-6550.
For complete details about Mr. Petruzzi's background, expertise, and
Federal Firearm Possession by Convicted Felon offenses are investigated
and prosecuted by various agencies, including the FBI, ATF, and the Department
of Justice. Some common Federal Statutes criminalizing Firearm Possession
by Convicted Felon include:
18 USC Sec. 922 –
(g) It shall be unlawful for any person -
(1) who has been convicted in any court of, a crime punishable by imprisonment
for a term exceeding one year;
to ship or transport in interstate or foreign commerce, or possess in or
affecting commerce, any firearm or ammunition; or to receive any firearm
or ammunition which has been shipped or transported in interstate or foreign commerce.
Florida Firearm Possession by Convicted Felon offenses are investigated
and prosecuted by various State and Local law enforcement agencies. Some
common Florida Statutes criminalizing Firearm Possession by Convicted
790.23 Felons and delinquents; possession of firearms, ammunition, or electric
weapons or devices unlawful.—
(1) It is unlawful for any person to own or to have in his or her care,
custody, possession, or control any firearm, ammunition, or electric weapon
or device, or to carry a concealed weapon, including a tear gas gun or
chemical weapon or device, if that person has been:
(a) Convicted of a felony in the courts of this state;
(b) Found, in the courts of this state, to have committed a delinquent
act that would be a felony if committed by an adult and such person is
under 24 years of age;
(c) Convicted of or found to have committed a crime against the United
States which is designated as a felony;
(d) Found to have committed a delinquent act in another state, territory,
or country that would be a felony if committed by an adult and which was
punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding 1 year and such person
is under 24 years of age; or
(e) Found guilty of an offense that is a felony in another state, territory,
or country and which was punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding 1 year.
(2) This section shall not apply to a person convicted of a felony whose
civil rights and firearm authority have been restored.
(3) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (4), any person who violates
this section commits a felony of the second degree, punishable as provided in s.
775.083, or s.
(4) Notwithstanding the provisions of s.
874.04, if the offense described in subsection (1) has been committed by a person
who has previously qualified or currently qualifies for the penalty enhancements
provided for in s.
874.04, the offense is a felony of the first degree, punishable by a term of
years not exceeding life or as provided in s.
775.083, or s.